Brewers Guild of New Zealand

NZ Beer Awards - Winners and Style Guide 2018

Thank you to everyone who entered our awards this year and congratulations to our winners. Here are our Champion Award, Trophy, and Special Award winners.



Champion Awards

Champion New Zealand Exhibitor sponsored by Gladfield Malt
Bach Brewing Company

Champion New Zealand Beer sponsored by Cryer Malt
Moa Brewing Company,
Moa Southern Alps White IPA

Champion Large New Zealand Brewery sponsored by NZ Hops
Lion BSW

Champion Medium New Zealand Brewery sponsored by Enpac

Champion Small New Zealand Brewery sponsored by Kegstar

Champion New Zealand Manufacturer sponsored by Enpac
Steam Brewing

Champion International Brewery sponsored by Bintani Australia
Samuel Adams


Trophy Awards

International Lager to Lion BSW
Speight's Triple Hop Pilsner

New Zealand Lager to DB
Monteith's Original Ale

British Ale to Lion BSW
Mac's Sassy Red

European Ale to Kereru Brewing
Feijoa Weisse

US Ale to Moa Brewing Company
Moa Southern Alps White IPA

Pale Ale to Bach Brewing
Billfish APA

Strong Pale Ale to Lakeman Brewing
Hairy Hop

Stout & Porter to Boundary Road
Jack the Sipper

Wheat & Other Grain to Lion BSW
Mac's Great White

Flavoured to Aotearoa Breweries
Mata Cola Cuz

Specialty, Experimental, Aged, Barrel, Wood-Aged to 8 Wired Brewing
Lokomotiv Merlot

Cider and Perry to Zeffer Cider Company

Fruit or Flavoured Cider or Perry to Good George Brewing
Good George Doris Cider

Packaging to Sprig & Fern Brewery
Sprig & Fern Range


Special Awards

Morton Coutts Trophy sponsored by DB Breweries
Tracy Banner

Beer Writer of the Year sponsored by Brewers Guild of NZ
Michael Donaldson

Industry Achievement Honorary Award 
Warren Amos
Doreen Helms

President's Honorary Award
Helen Matthews


For full results please see the

2018 Catalogue of Results.