2016 Awards Round Up


Congratulations to all the award winners of the 2016 Brewers Guild of New Zealand Beer Awards.  A big thank you to all our Sponsors.

For a full list of award winners please see the Catalogue of Results 2016

Result Summary

Beer Awards

Winner Sponsor
Champion New Zealand
Tuatara Brewing Company
Champion Manufacturer Steam Brewing 
Champion International
Boston Beer Company
International Lager

DB Breweries
Heineken Light

New Zealand Lager

Tuatara Brewing Co.
Mot Eureka



British Ale

Sprig & Fern Brewery
Best Bitter

European Ale

Moa Brewing Company 
Moa St Josephs

US Ale

8 Wired Brewing
Tall Poppy
Pale Ale Tuatara Brewing Co. 
Strong Pale Ale Epic Brewing Company 
Epic Armageddon IPA
Stout and Porter Emerson's Brewing Co. 
Emerson's Phantom Lord

Wheat and Other Grain

Tuatara Brewing Co. 
Weiz Guy
Flavoured and Aged
Choice Bros 
Reet Petite
Specialty, Experimental,
Aged, Barrel, Wood-Aged
Croucher Brewing 
Cider or Perry
Zeffer Cider Co. 
Cidre Demi-Sec
Fruit or Flavoured
Cider or Perry
Zeffer Cider Co. 
Apple Crumble Cider
Moa Brewing Company 
Moa NZ Gold Ale 375ml Retail Unit (Bottle/Cork/Muselet/Label)


Award Winner
Morton Coutts Trophy John Harrington
Beer Writer of the Year Michael Donaldson
Brewers' Guild of NZ
Honorary Awards



Honorary Fellow

Dave Logsdon  

Honorary Member
John Harrington  

Life Membership
Simon Taylor  

President’s Award 
Phillippa Boa  


Official Media Partner Trophy Sponsor Mashing In Sponsor

Apparel Sponsor

Seminar Sponsor    

Brewers' Guild of New Zealand Beer Awards 

The NZ Beer Awards in a competition organised annually by the Brewers' Guild to celebrate excellence in the brewing industry, which includes beer, innovation/achievement and beer writing.

The Awards are held in esteem worldwide due to the reputation of all involved in organising, staging and judging the event, with a world class selection of judges from New Zealand, Australia, America and beyond.  This diversity of background and quality of judge ensures that the Awards have a huge reputation across the globe as one of the most presitgious accolades a brewer can win.


Beer Awards 2016 Entry Guide

Now in its tenth year of operation, this globally recognised, world-class beer competition is open to brewers of all production sizes in NZ and from overseas for packaged and draught beer.  Local and international beers are judged over a three day period by a panel of selected experts from New Zealand and globally.

The 2016 Entry Guide contains all the information you need to know regarding deadlines, beer styles and competition rules.

Please ensure that you read the Entry Guide carefully as there have been changes since last year.

There are no limit to the number of entries but all entries must comply with the Competition Rules.

Entry Fees 2016

Brewers Guild Member Rate*:  NZ$135 per entry (paid-up Brewery Member). GST inclusive

Non-Member Rate**:  NZ$185 per entry.  GST inclusive

*only NZ breweries are eligible for Brewery Membership of the Brewers' Guild

** Eligible Non-Members who join the Guild prior to entry closing date will receive a refund of $55 per entr

On-Line Entry

Enter Online on the NZ Brewers' Guild Awards Website.  Entries Close 9 September 2016


Morton Coutts Trophy

This Award recognises innovation and/or outstanding achievement in the brewing industry.  Full information on the Morton Coutts Trophy and entry criteria can be found here.


Beer Writer of the Year Award

This award recognises excellence in the art of beer writing.  Full information and entry criteria can be found here.

  • Cassels & Sons Brewery
  • Aotearoa Brewery
  • Brew Moon Brewing Company
  • DB Breweries
  • Emerson's Brewery
  • 8 Wired Brewing
  • mike's Brewery
  • Golden Bear Brewing
  • McCashins Brewery
  • Mussel Inn
  • Renaissance Brewery
  • Three Boys Brewery
  • Tuatara Brewing
  • Wanaka Beerworks
  • Wigram Brewing Company
  • Yeastie Boys
  • Sprig & Fern
  • The Twisted Hop
  • Eagle Brewing NZ
  • Valkyrie Brewing Co
  • ParrotDog
  • Liberty Brewing
  • Sawmill Brewing Company
  • Waiheke Brewery
  • Steam Brewing
  • Raindogs Brewing Co
  • Bulmer Harvest
  • Park Life Brewing Co
  • Hawkes Bay Brewing Co.
  • Boundry Road
  • Zeelandt Brewery
  • Townshend Brewery
  • Funk Estate - Auckland
  • Harringtons Breweries
  • Deep Creek Brewing Co
  • Garage Project
  • Fork Brewing
  • Good George Brewing
  • Hop Federation Brewery
  • Fitzpatrick's Brewing Co Ltd
  • Two Thumb Brewing Co Ltd
  • Behemoth Brewing Company
  • Croucher Brewing Co
  • Queenstown Brewers
  • www.mountbrewingco.co.nz
  • www.forbidden.co.nz
  • www.weezledogbrewing.co.nz
  • www.sparksbrewing.co.nz
  • moabeer.com
  • www.altitudebrewing.co.nz
  • www.martinboroughbeer.com
  • www.craftworkbrewery.co.nz
  • www.eruptionbrewing.com
  • www.bravebrewing.co.nz
  • Epic Beer
  • www.brewmountain.co.nz
  • www.standingspoon.co.nz
  • North End Brewing
  • www.panhead.co.nz
  • www.hopinvaders.co.nz
  • www.duncansbrewing.co.nz
  • www.giantbrewing.co.nz
  • www.rockyknob.co.nz
  • Hallertau Brewery
  • Birkenhead Brewing Company
  • McLeod's Brewery
  • www.horseboxbrewery.co.nz
  • Te Aro Brewing
  • Eddyline Brewery & Pizzeria
  • Black Sands Brewing
  • Napier Brewing Company
  • Burkes Brewing Co
  • GodsOwn Brewery
  • Double Vision Brewing Company
  • Hot Water Brewing Co
  • Ferris Road Brewery
  • Fortune Favours
  • Brew Union Brewing Company
  • Heyday Beer Co
  • Emporium Brewing
  • Bellend Brewery
  • Boogie Van Brewing
  • The Laboratory
  • PhatHouse Brewing
  • Colab Brewing
  • Outlier Cartel
  • Urbanaut Brewing Co
  • Whistling Sisters Beer Co
  • B.Effect Brewing Co
  • Tinker Tailor Brewing Ltd
  • Abandoned Husbands Brewing Ltd


Members Area | Brewers Guild © Copyright 2017  |  Site by Deflux