save the date awards20 1

BGNZ champion strip

Champion & Trophy Awards

Winners of the 2019 Brewers Guild of NZ Beer Awards will be announced at the BREWNZ'19 gala dinner being held in Wellington, New Zealand on Saturday 19 October 2019.

Champion Trophies

Champion New Zealand Exhibitor
Champion New Zealand Beer
Champion Small New Zealand Brewery
Champion Medium New Zealand Brewery
Champion Large New Zealand Brewery
Champion International Brewery
Champion Manufacturer

Trophy Classes

International Lager
NZ Styles 
Best Amber/ Dark Lager
British Ale  (excluding Pale Ale & IPA)
European Ale 
Best Amber/ Dark Ale
International Pale Ale
Stout & Porter 
Wheat & Other Grain
Fruit & Flavoured
Specialty, Experimental Aged
Barrel & Wood-Aged
Cider & Perry
Fruit or Flavoured Cider or Perry

SHP 4002

BGNZ MC strip

Industry Awards

The Brewers Guild of New Zealand Beer Awards celebrates and recognises quality not only in beer but in the broader organisations and individuals that make the New Zealand brewing industry so vibrant.


Morton Coutts Award

The Morton Coutts Trophy is a prestigious award designed to recognise outstanding innovation and/or achievement in the brewing industry of New Zealand. 

Packaging Award

Packaging is a critical component in determining the commercial success of a brewing business.  Design, aesthetics and utility all play a significant role in getting great beer in the hands of the consumer.  The Packaging Award recognises the achievements of New Zealand brewing businesses in this important aspect of our industry.

Beer Media Award

The Beer Media of the Year award aims to raise the standard of media for beer in New Zealand and recognises an outstanding contribution in the media by any individual over the previous calendar year.

Brewing Sustainability Award

The award for Brewing Sustainability honours businesses from throughout the grain to glass supply chain in New Zealand that are implementing projects, policies and initiatives that have a positive impact on the environment.

Tourism Award

The Tourism Award aims to raise the standard of beer tourism experiences in New Zealand and recognises an outstanding contribution by brewing businesses and operators to enhancing the beer experience for domestic and international tourists.

SHP 4544

Awards Advisory Committee


The Awards Advisory Committee works with the Guild and makes recommendations to ensure that the judging process is of the highest standard.

Chairperson - Tracy Banner, Sprig & Fern, Nelson
Ben Middlemiss - Otago Polytechnic, Cromwell
Brian Watson - Good George Brewing, Hamilton
Dale Cooper - Fortune Favours, Wellington
David Nicholls - Moa Brewing Company, Blenheim
Jason Bathgate - McLeods Brewery, Waipu
Kelly Ockwell - McLeods Brewery, Waipu
Leon Dawson - DB Breweries Ltd, Timaru

Entry Data Infographic

Infographic Entry Data

Previous Years' Results


You can view the Catalogue of Results from previous years by clicking on the  following annual links:

2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010